Posted by: CJ | January 13, 2013

fashionable nonsense

I’m much better at technical things than choosing clothes. But people who are much better at technical things than choosing clothes often end up, like I have, in grad school. And people in grad school aren’t exactly renowned for riches.

I also have a decidedly non-standard body type. So getting clothes that fit well isn’t super-easy.

I’m thinking the way to go is to wait until I have a real job and then get a fashion consultant to help me choose some outfits. The fashion consultants are expensive by the hour, but it (1) shouldn’t take too many hours, and (2) is cheaper and faster than me buying clothing that turns out not to work but I was too clueless to tell that in the store.

Rationally, this seems like the sensible thing to do. Since there are a lot of contexts where showing up in trashy, over-sized jeans and t-shirts is considered bad taste. Even for people much better at technical things than any particular non-technical thing.

Still, it also seems quite strange….

Leave a Reply

Categories

