Posted by: CJ | January 1, 2013

Breaking! Mystery Solved!

It just struck me that probably a lot of the news specials about “mysteries” being solved that are about things that were neither mysteries nor solved reflects the ignorance of the viewers.

I guess people aren’t too interested in watching specials on “things scientists have known for 50 years” compared to a special on “breaking: new stuff that was just discovered like right now!”. I’m not sure if there’s a word for that sort of bias. It’s something the tech community is prone to, but I hadn’t realized how broadly applicable it probably is.

Seems weird to me. There are many, many, many areas of science that I simply don’t know anything about. Why would I try to learn about something new when I’m well aware that I don’t have the proper context to put it in?

Leave a Reply

Categories

