Posted by: CJ | September 20, 2012

Clueless Feminist

Through much of high school and college many of my best friends were female. I don’t say that in  like Trent Lott might scream, “Neither Strom or I are racists just god-fearin’ small-gumint-minded patriotic americans that happen to dislike them colored folk.” I just mean that I’ve taken for granted for much of my life that I plenty of females to talk to.

But that’s basically disappeared during graduate school. I’ve ranted about this before, but largely in the context of dating. What I’ve just recently noticed is that by now the only females my age I know seem to be in graduate school. I just don’t know that many, and the ones I do know are generally college friends in grad school or grad school friends.

I probably wouldn’t have even noticed that, if not for my recent forays into the working world via internships. There just aren’t any females around. Of the non-grad student females I do know, through social dancing, they’re generally all 5 to 20 years older than me. They don’t seem to shine terribly much light on what girls my age are doing or thinking.

So…..for what feels like the first time in my life, I have a better handle on what guys my age do, where they hang out, and where they’re heading than I do for females.

So where are the females my age? What are they doing with their lives? Who do they hang out with, and how do they spend their time? What are their medium and long term plans, and what are they doing to achieve them?

Leave a Reply

Categories

