Posted by: CJ | June 5, 2012

Guess it’s not imaginary

I’ve spent my entire life around a rotating mix of science academics, no-nonsense engineers, working class city-folk, big-city hipsters, and church-going-grew-up-on-a-farm midwesterners.

The idea of high fashion in any or all of those folks essentially boils down to, at best, cheap finds in Goodwill, Kohl’s, or Target.

What I’m trying to say is I grew up understanding that there are fashion-obsessed people that nearly define themselves by their fashion sense in the same way I understood there were starving children in remote African villages. There was boundless evidence of it on TV and in the official statistics, but none in my immediate life.

So I find the proliferation of blogs celebrating the blogger’s  fashion sense by posting his/her (generally her) “absolutely amazing and fantabulous” latest outfit pretty scary. These aren’t just ‘those people on TV who are paid to be stupid’ anymore. This is ‘real people on the interwebs pursuing a personal hobby getting attention from lots of interweb surfers with the same hobby’.

These leaves me not terribly amused. I’m not really sure I get the point. And I suspect that if I got the point I would be even less amused.

Leave a Reply

Categories

