Posted by: CJ | February 17, 2012

Wherefore Romantic Music?

Try as I might, I can’t think of any Romantic Era composers I like. From that entire period, the only definitive things I like are “Bolero”, “Danse Macabre”, and “Ride of the Valkyries”. The last one I don’t even like because of the music–it’s more a cultural icon of what a bloody-minded American should play while engaged in indiscriminate blood-letting. Why a German operatic piece is the proper mood music for that is beyond my pay grade.

Am I missing something? Did my family secretly harbor anti-Romantic period tastes I never noticed?

Responses

  1. I like Impressionists more, which you probably realize, but we had Beethoven around.


Leave a Reply

Categories

