Posted by: CJ | August 21, 2011

Spinning their wheels?

I’ve just realized I have a number of close friends that are always extremely busy. The sort of busy where they wake up really early in the morning to spend several hours doing their own work, for fun, before leaving to go to their day job.

I wonder how they fit into the broader scheme of things. They’re very intelligent, and work very hard. But, to the best of my knowledge, they’re also fairly low profile. I’m not really sure what exactly all their work in their free time accomplishes. Is it just that they love it enough that they do it regardless, or is there some actual goal for it?

One possibility is they honestly, truly just do it for the sheer joy of working on something they enjoy. Whereas I generally only work on things when I have specific goals. I wonder if that’s all that’s going on.

Leave a Reply

Categories

