Posted by: CJ | September 18, 2010

Weird aspie advantage?

Spent an afternoon around a 4 year old recently, a girl named Annev. Her mom remarked I was one of only a few people she’d seen have a sustained back-and-forth conversion with Annev. Of course, we were talking about Disney princesses and princess music, so it wasn’t quite a topic of my choice. But I hung with it; of all the available options of amusing Annev, talking was what I preferred most.

Anyways, I was surprised more people didn’t have conversations with Annev. She’s funny and charming. Made me vaguely wonder if part of it is that, as a minor-league aspie-ish person, I don’t really have many different interaction styles. It’s easier for me to treat a 4 year old like a 20 year old than to do some sort of baby talk thing.

Of course, it could also just be the family I’m from. No one really encouraged baby talk, and conversation was always our primary mode of amusing ourselves as a group. And that’s more or less true of everyone, regardless of age.

Dunno. Just thinking out loud.

Responses

  1. Kids understand the world by mimicing what they see. Treating them like adults means they understand what being respected is. I give you kudos for that. Most people would just ignore kids and then the kids learn they are not as important as the adults… Which is shit.

    that’s the reason, well one reason, I always perfer kids over adults as a general rule.

  2. That could also be it. I think her mom deserves the vast majority of kudos, though. She’s raised Annev without ever really doing babytalk, and trying to treat her as much like an adult as is possible in a given situation.

    I’d like kids more if they weren’t prone to melodrama. Well, and I also prefer–strongly–interacting with people who are doing things they’ve chosen to do. Way too many of the people younger than myself I know have chips on their shoulders about not having as much freedom as they want. And I know that’s a combination of kids wanting more than they can reasonably have and adults wanting less than is reasonable.

  3. I agree with both of you–and point out that as a child, you asked me when Megan would be sentient–she was kindergarten or first grade. Your assumption has always been that people should talk to everyone at about the same level you usually communicate, so it doesn’t surprise me that you really talked to the four year old, albeit on a topic of her choice.


Leave a Reply

Categories

