Posted by: CJ | September 13, 2010

Homecoming Thoughts

A collection of random thoughts from visiting home, many from conversations with my mom.

  • In my high school, there was a certain class of people, mostly female, that I disliked for reasons I didn’t really understand. These people were smart enough that they could have had high academic achievement as well as high ambitions. Instead, they underperformed relative to their ability (which still left them outperforming most people) and dated people I thought had little long-term goals or prospects (i.e., losers). At the time, that description is the best I could give for why I didn’t like those people. A more concise explanation is that I disliked that they bought into the whole good ole’ boy & suburban mom model of life. As lifestyle choices go, that’s not one that impresses me. Particularly when I feel at least one of the people involved should know better.
  • The above point is something I need to think more and deeper about.
  • I am, apparently, more curious than the average bear. And have been since I was very young.
  • Living in a city with very few professionals has many drawbacks. One is that you may never get exposed to someone who’s spent most of their adult life working on or thinking about one area. So they don’t get a real feeling for what area expertise means, as a combination of experience and thinking hard about theories. They also won’t see the evolution of someone as working hard and experience turns them into an expert. So they may think experts are worthless or magically born with their expertise.
  • Some kids enter the school system with very little sense of curiosity. Or, at the very least, it disappears quite quickly. This is particularly a problem with kids from lower classes. I am unsure why. But this is an issue because if the kids aren’t curious then learning won’t come happily or naturally to them. It makes me increasingly think that educational thought and policy needs come to grips with three major problems: it can’t control the home life of children, it can’t rely on parents being supportive–either in theory or practice–of the teachers and schools, and they need some idea how to improve life outcomes over multiple generations. The first two are important because so much that’s relevant to education happens outside of the school. Background knowledge, modes of thinking, improved literacy, etc.. The last is important because we need to treat persistent problems like they’re persistent problems for a reason.
  • I suspect I’m partially a night-owl to make sure I get enough alone time. I mean, I hate the daystar too. But it can’t be the only factor given my reaction when I find people awake at times I consider mine. It turns out people can be territorial about a time of day.
Responses

  1. Ya know one thing Ive noticed in dealing with adolescents for so long is that its really easy to say they are curiosity-less, but its not really true. its more that they are curiosity specific. at least more so than others. I have always been a omnivorous learner (yeah that was intentional). I devour all kinds of information. I’m also a rampant polychrone. If I’m not doing at least 6 things at once i get mega-bored. However, Ive had to come to grips with the monochronic students that can only deal with one thing at a time and if its not my subject or what I’m interested in then it doesn’t necessarily mean they are not curious or interested just overwhelmed. While this has seemed like they are weak minded in the past I have come to believe that is not true its just their nature.

    Just a thought


Leave a Reply

Categories

