Posted by: CJ | September 10, 2010

PAX Wrap-Up

Went to PAX with some friends. These are just some random thoughts from it.

  • It’s been a long time since I really felt it, but I’m definitely a gamer. In terms of fun-time things, I felt amongst my people at the con. Especially since gaming is something I’ve been doing for a long, long time. In some form or another, since 1st and 2nd grade, when I first was playing computer games with my dad.
  • I apparently consider myself a serious enough gamer that I look down on the Rock Band lovers.
  • That said, I’m not a serious board gamer. I play board games a lot, but I do it as a fun social activity.
  • There were A LOT of Halo-type clones, a few WoW wannabes, and a lot of zombies. More annoying, even if completely understandable, was how much marketing money was being spent on these clone-ish games. I don’t really agree with the paradigm of cutting back on game development resources to pour into marketing resources, for obvious reasons.
  • I was slightly offended by the dressed up “hot chicks” some of the expo booths had. I felt like they weren’t catering to me. They should have had girls that looked like they enjoyed gaming at least as much as they enjoy make-up and tight clothing. That’s my minimum standard for finding a girl at a gaming conference hot. Keep the bimbos at car shows and redneck cons.
  • Euro games–like Settlers of Catan, Agricola, Puerto Rico, etc.–can be a lot of fun with the right people. It was sorta a nice change of pace since my game group prefers Ameri-trash games. Lots of Cosmic Encounters, Avalon Hill Dune, Battlestar Galactica, and some rondel games.
  • I’m really, really not motivated to meet people. Even at a giant pan-gaming conference. I stayed huddled around people I knew, mostly.
  • The PC freestyle area was awesome. An auditorium sized room devoted to the idea that, no matter how close, all interactions between people should be handled through the warm intermediating glow of a computer screen. It’s the introverted autistic’s idea of being extremely social and outgoing.
  • I stayed in a rented house with friends of friends during the convention. I helped clean up before I left. It turns out a great way to make new friends is being a mild-yet-functional OCDer cleaning the kitchen.

Overall, the convention was lots of fun. I didn’t go to many panels, and tended to avoid the ones that were “famous people doing fun things” panels. I just hung around friends, looked around, and played some board and computer games.

Responses

  1. im completely jealous lol. Ohio is such a pit. How was the pen and paper games? Many there?

  2. Pax….and I can’t even make GenCon…phooey.

  3. If it makes you feel any better I mostly sat on a bean bag and played Starcraft 2. I really liked playing League of Legends, but there isn’t a version out for mac, yet.

    They had an area for RPG’s. D&D was the most represented, but there were other games too. They had a little campaign people could play through. They also had a D&D bus, with human sized dice and a life-sized Beholder sculpture, a few blocks away.

    I saw a sourcebook for a space horror game–whose name I forget–but didn’t have time to really dig into it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

