Posted by: CJ | September 8, 2010

Fall Anxieties

The seasons affect my moods a lot. Summer is usually pretty carefree and fun for me, while fall is full of not quite adjusting to new anxieties. The transition from summer to fall is often pretty rough on me, and it isn’t until winter–or, occasionally, spring–that I’ve gotten a handle on my emotions.

Anyways, today’s been a rough day for that. Let me count the ways…

  • Coming off the high from labor day weekend, when I got to spend a lot of time around friends doing fun stuff. Seeing people I haven’t seen enough of lately, meeting new people, going on adventures with them.
  • One friend is leaving for a month on a trip.
  • Another friend is coming and staying with me for 1-2 weeks as he searches for an apartment.
  • One of my most stable friends–who’s been key in bringing many good friends and fun experiences into my life–is moving overseas soon.¬†Permanently. She doesn’t move for about 6 weeks, but those weeks will go fast.
  • On top of all that, I’m feeling more pressure to get research results since one research project just fell through. I had fun learning the stuff, but it turns out the results were already published. It’s more my advisor’s fault than mine for not knowing the status of the project he had me working on, but it’s still frustrating.

I guess it’s getting to be time for my annual one-person emo production…

Responses

  1. I am very effected by the seasons too. I get that. mine is more the change from fall to winter or when the days are short and nights long. and people coming and going…. yeah. I guess this is all to say it may be a one man emo show, but im in the audience nodding in time to the drama. if you ever need it anyway…

  2. I’m sorry to hear that your friend is finally about to leave. I can point out the joys of technology…but I know it’s no where near a reasonable facsimile of having her there.

    And–unfortunately–you know all the techniques and tricks to deal with the fall attack of the emo…time to get out the armor.


Leave a Reply

Categories

