Posted by: CJ | March 13, 2010

Referees

Over the past few years I’ve grown apart from various good friends. Some good friends from college, and some friends from grad school. Sometimes it was just the distance, other times it was changing interests, and for a few it was realizing we didn’t have as much in common as we thought.

But when my friendships grow apart I get very insecure. I’ve created more than enough problems in my life that, ultimately, stemmed from issues I had poisoning an otherwise simple situation. On the other hand, I’m not always the one at fault. Other people make mistakes too. And sometimes no one was at fault, it was just life.

I really wish my life had a referee that would drop red or yellow flags when people made fouls. Then I wouldn’t have to wonder if anyone was at fault or if it was just part of the game.

Leave a Reply

Categories

