Posted by: CJ | January 30, 2010

Not Happening

I refuse to have biological children. Ever.

There are many reasons for this. Enough that it’s not easy to explain them out loud, but much easier to do it all at once in words.

  1. There are already plenty of people. Over 6 or 7 billion on the planet. Well more than the planet really has resources for, long-term. I’m not adding to that problem. Long-term, I also think fertility rates must go down, and it seems unfair to me to have a child so that, one day, my descendants can’t have children themselves.
  2. There are already plenty of unloved, uncared for children. Why should I have one when there are others that already exist and wanting? Just take one of them. It’s what gay penguins would do, and they’re pretty much my gold-standard for morality.
  3. Fairness. I am unsure how to be comfortable with the unfair resources and advantages a child I personally contributed to would likely have growing up.
  4. Madness. A certain cluster of traits and behavior patterns clusters in scions of one side of my family. I don’t think it’s fair to the child to bequeath him/her with such traits unless the child signs some legally binding contract to the affect that he/she accepts them. The lack of said child to sign such a contract before conception has obvious implications. (Namely that there’s not going to be any conception.)
Responses

  1. BY NOT HAVING A CHILD WILL YOU ENSURE THAT YOUR DESCENDANTS WILL? ALSO WHICH SIDE OF YOUR FAMILY IS LOONEY ????? NOT I SAID THE GRANDFATHER

  2. Sorry I didn’t think of the binding contract thing. And gay penguins…that line is now my IM status.


Leave a Reply

Categories

