Posted by: CJ | May 24, 2009

Post Dump

I’ve mostly stayed off the blogs for the past two weeks, but I spent some free time yesterday catching up with some of the major blogs. I found a few intersting things.

1. Here’s an interesting post on the failure of international peace efforts in the Congo. It’s fascinating because it talks about the erroneous assumptions the international actors had, including a refusal to deal with sub-national issues and a deep-seated belief that elections would miraculously solve everything. Sound familiar?

2. A post by Kevin Drum on California’s ongoing budget crisis. He takes the point of view that Californians just expect too much state service for the amount of money they’re willing to pay. I ‘m very curious about how this will be resolved. Particularly because California is someplace much political evil comes from, so it’s someplace I look to to get an idea of what’s coming down the pike. (The other place being Texas. I look to Florida for ridiculous political stunts, but not freakish policy.)

3. Another series of posts I found via Kevin Drum. They’re all about education policy though, which is different from his normal fare. I really like them because they’re specifically about issues of socioeconomic segregation in schools. I need to think about the posts more though before I offer any sort of response, so for right now I’m just going to dump the series of posts, in order.

  1. Across Distinct Lines, by Dana Goldstein
  2. Matt Yglesias applauds
  3. Kevin Drum comments
  4. Kevin Carey scolds
  5. Kevin Drum says his mea culpa

The posts are, of course, more complicated than my 1 word summaries. Go read them if socioeconomic segregation in schools is something that interests you.

UPDATE: This comparison of Japanese and Korean bank crises in the past two decades is also quite good.

Responses

  1. I read Across District Lines–and yea, I’ve seen the stat before about the achievement gap during and after desegregation. It’s important–but it’s simplifying complex issues. Do you seriously believe that the only difference between the kids, the schools, the neighborhoods and the society impacting them is whether the schools were forced to integrate? What about the social forces that impacted the integration policies?

    That doesn’t mean that I think schools should be segregated, but I do think a serious discuss of the issue of the achievement gap would go deeper than one cause-effect analysis.


Leave a Reply

Categories

