Posted by: CJ | May 24, 2009

AWESOME!

I’m not a big fan of Michael Pollan, the food bodhisattva who has written tons about the evils of current food practices. I haven’t read much of his writings, particularly his more scientific writings like Omnivore’s Dilemma which is supposed to be very good. My issue is more with his recommendations for what should be done. I think it’s nonsense. He says we should eat “traditional” diets, but is somewhat evasive about what exactly a traditional diet is when what we eat has been changing drastically since people started moving into cities and worldwide trade became the norm. And more to the point his recommendations are rather classist and ignores that there is a trade off betwen health and taste, and that different people make different choices. For more details there’s this classic essay by Orwell and this very insightful post at The Edge of the American West (the comments at the post are also very good).

So why did I title this post “AWESOME!”? Because even though I dislike Pollan, I really like Marion Nestle. Her book Food Politics was great, if a little repetative. And best of all, I don’t have to listen to my roommate talk about her and her amazing insights. So I’m very happy to learn she has a blog! That she updates regularly!  Great!

Leave a Reply

Categories

