Posted by: CJ | April 21, 2009

If I cared about people I wouldn’t be a scientist, would I?

Generally I’ve been liking On Writing Well. But his section on interviews annoys me. There’s a passage on making any story, no matter how technical or wonky, not only readable but also interesting by focusing on the human element. Find some people with a story and tell it. I think this is an overemphasis. It’s important to not lose track of humans when talking about technical material. But it’s even more important to not elide the technical details in favor of focusing on more readable and easily understood stories about people.

Of course, maybe I just hate standard journalism techniques. That’s also entirely possible.

Leave a Reply

Categories

