Posted by: CJ | February 5, 2009

Small Victories watch

A few days ago I got back the TA evaluation from my professor last quarter. I’m not exactly sure how to interpret it, but she didn’t say anything really bad. On the slightly disappointing side, she concluded my TAing was “satisfactory”, which sounds somewhat middling. But the text of her report seemed more complimentary, saying I was responsible, asked questions when in doubt, carefully prepared for section, manage time effectively, spoke clearly, and used board space well. Her two big comments where ideally I would be more energetic (though that’s something I hear from everyone) and that I would have moved faster between groups I was helping during that section.

It’s more mixed than I would prefer, but I’ll count it as a small victory since I was so concerned about how I was TA-ing last quarter.

Responses

  1. That sounds good. Sure, there are always things to work one, but that’s true for anyone. 🙂

  2. Yes, but her comment on energy level is both true and onerous for me. It’s incredibly taxing for me to display what other people would consider a normal amount of energy. Being energetic for a 2 hour stretch would be an Olympian feat.


Leave a Reply

Categories

