Posted by: CJ | January 28, 2009

This is not the grad school I know…

There are times, more often than I’m really comfortable with, when I wonder if I have any business being in grad school. TA-ing does not come easily to me and I’m often frustrated by my inability to communicate the material to the students.

But I’m at least apparenly better off than non-science grad students. Via Amber at Prettier Than Napoleon, just today I saw this post about how a J.D. isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. And that’s in a long string of similar posts I’ve seen.  Tim Burke says, essentially, that history/humanities grad school should be avoided. He doesn’t think grad school is fun and it won’t prepare you for anything except being a professor (which is a very difficult job to get). Megan McArdle, apparently more versed in humanities and business grad school, is pretty sure it makes you arrogantly think you understand everything. Paul Gowder at Law and Letters had a huge series on why you don’t want to be a lawyer: Part I, Part II, and Part III.

So even though I haven’t solved any problems today, but at least I’ve reminded myself that I’m not learning completely useless skills, and I’m not having to pay anyone to do it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

